Simon Says Stamp Challenge – Fun with Stencils

Garden Path

I made this card for the Simon Says Stamp Monday Challenge – Fun with Stencils. It is an abstract garden path with all the beautiful things you might encounter. I am working on brightening up my work and trying not to make it so grungy… I would have to say it is a challenge for me…. LOL

I used 110# white cardstock and stenciled Connected dots with Saltwater Taffy Oxide. Next, I added Crooked Broomstick crayon and then Sparkle Texture Paste through the same stencil, letting it dry in between steps. Once it was dry, stenciled Burlap with Pumice Stone Oxide over the open circles being careful not to get oxide outside the circle area. 

I tore sections from a napkin and decoupaged the images over the circles. Down the center I layered web ribbon, velvet trim and a scrap piece of paper which was made using Distress Oxides over the Burlap stencil. I cut out several sizes of circles in mixed papers and glued them down on top of each other semi-organically. The base circle has print stenciled Dotted with Aged Mahogany. I layered it with gathered string, cloth and the Ide-ology butterfly. 

Thank you for stopping by! I hope you are inspired to make something! Be Well – J

Materials:

  • Dina Wakley Stencil: Connected Dots (MDS77640)
  • Tim Holtz Stencil: Burlap (THS007) & Dotted (THS100)
  • Tim Holtz Distress Oxide Saltwater Taffy, Pumice Stone Vintage Photo, Dried Marigold, Speckled Egg and Aged Mahogany.
  • Tim Holtz Distress Crayon Crooked Broomstick
  • Tim Holtz Distress Texture Paste Sparkle
  • Tim Holtz Idea-ology Small Talk and Field Notes Ephemera
  • Various other mixed media supplies.

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Trackback: Stencils Challenge Winner and Designer Spotlights |
  2. Anonymous
    Feb 16, 2024 @ 13:14:54

    This is such a gorgeous card Jen! You are the winner of our stencil challenge at the Simon Says Stamp Monday Challenge Blog! Congratulations! Please send an email to the challenge emailadress and be sure to include your full name so that we can get your voucher to you. You can find the adress in the sidebar of the challenge blog. Thank you for joining us and happy crafting! / Anna-Karin

    Reply

  3. purplefishstudio
    Feb 16, 2024 @ 17:02:19

    I am so excited!! Thank you!

    Reply

Leave a comment